my baby dances

i play music for him, headphones pressed tight against belly, and my baby dances.

there is pain in my baby’s twirls… and yet, david nevue’s piano fingers continue to press ivories against my womb… for i revel in my little one’s movements, and i will suffer just to know he is alive.

is this why God plays music for us–the music of the stars, of the healing moments, the music of sweet smiles and pure kisses, the music of colourful sunsets and freshly fallen snow? that he might feel his children dance within his womb?

i’m beginning to think, it isn’t enough for us just to exist. God wants to feel us. no matter how much it hurts.

3 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    November 3, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Emily – you have such beautiful thoughts. I think you are right. He opens His heart to so much hurt – but He takes such joy in us. I had never thought of it that way. I will ponder…

    If your little one will wait until the 10th – we can share a birthday day!!

  2. Teneale said,

    November 4, 2009 at 1:13 am

    Wow, you are such a dedicated Mom! I never did that for Logan, although he did enjoy music, especially when we were in church. And he loves music now. Aiden is lucky to have you and Trent as parents!

  3. November 4, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    oh… such a beautiful picture. I will listen more intently today. And I will dance.


Leave a Reply

