nap-time

mum and babe, asleep…

mum wrapped under feather-down in my bedroom…

babe in bassinette, under blanket of soft blue.

mum is here, for dad is gone to work… i am watching her. helping her. she stares up at me from pillow, eyes bright, loving me with my child…

on good days, she holds him: my aiden. he feels the heart of his grandmother beating through her favourite navy sweater. she curls her finger around his. he knows nothing of her tumor; everything about her love.

and now, for the moment, both sleep. left in the hush of afternoon lull, i sip soup and stare out the window into winter rain…

breathing deep the circle of life.

2 Comments

  1. A. said,

    November 25, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Hang in =) U are highly favoured (and I even spelled that the Canadian way, just for you) I love you!!
    a.

  2. Linda said,

    November 25, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I don’t have words…..


Leave a Reply

