move over, mona lisa

wee morn treads tired footprints across my forehead, and i yawn… stare down at young son on dressing table, my fingers fumbling with cloth diaper velcro… he’s stretching: one arm, and then the other, and his breath is coming in excited yelps… suddenly his legs spring out, then up, and his mouth spreads into a yawn so big i fear it will swallow him.

then, his eyes find mine… wise eyes, fresh from heaven’s bosom, and…

he smiles.

it’s a slow process, lifting one cheek, then the other, splitting wide small face until his chin quivers and his eyes dance. this is no passing gas… (which spreads thinly, creepily)… no, this is a huge, glorious grin that leaps up and kisses my face until the joy makes my heart hurt. and i cry.

move over, mona lisa… for there’s nothing more beautiful than a smiling babe.

his smile confirms that yes, i am doing something right… yes, my boy loves me. knows me. and wants to know me more.

oh, the affirmation. of being adored by someone so new, so honest. it makes one want to continue…

5 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    January 2, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Oh my goodness! He is smiling early. Logan was such a serious boy, it was so hard to get a laugh or smile out of him when he was young. I was so worried he wasn’t a happy baby because other babies his age smiled so much. But now I realise that he was happy, he was just so busy learning and watching that he didn’t have time for a smile. He smiles and laugh constantly now and what a reward it is for all our hard work! Aiden is such a cutie pie! I can’t wait to meet him!

  2. Linda said,

    January 3, 2010 at 3:02 am

    I’m sorry I’m so late commenting. Somehow my bloglines didn’t show your new post 😦
    What a sweet, sweet smile. Oh yes Emily – he loves you absolutely. How easily they wrap their little lives around your heart.

  3. melanie said,

    January 4, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Those first smiles are so precious–enjoy each one! It is amazing how they do love you so much, and you are their greatest toy! I love your mommy posts…thanks for writing…

  4. melanie said,

    January 4, 2010 at 12:07 am

    p.s. he is so big already, and such a cutie…you guys must be so proud!

  5. Ann Voskamp said,

    January 5, 2010 at 3:50 am

    OHHH!
    Doesn’t that make your mama heart SING!?
    Nothing in the world like it!
    🙂

    Can’t wait to see you — soon!
    Ann


Leave a Reply

