change-table chats

i meet him there, on the change-table. no matter my baby’s mood before, there, on the table he squeals, lifts legs in glee: naked legs, growing out of pants legs, soon to be crawling, then walking, then running legs.

we chat, there on the change-table, him telling me stories with beautiful baby consonants and me listening and nodding and urging, ‘tell me more.’ then me asking him what he’d like to do today? perhaps learn how to draw? perhaps kick a ball? or maybe, just lay on the play-mat and giggle? when i talk, he stares into my face as if memorizing every detail and then i pause and he laughs, eyes still on me, loving me with his joy-sounds.  he judges not, just listens to the lilt of mama’s voice. these are change-table moments, when nothing else distracts. when i am all his.

this then is what God seeks from me. change-table moments. he is always waiting–for me to listen, for me to memorize his face, for me to adore. and for me to want to be changed. for at the table, it’s just him and i. no one else. our own little world of chit-chat and laughs. and so, i practice the presence of the divine. making moments stretch, laying heart before God, letting him make me smile. delighting. and being changed.

3 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    February 9, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Logan struggles on the change table now, and I always say, Stop struggling, You are making this take way longer than it should. And then I think, how often has God said that to me?

  2. Linda said,

    February 10, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Wonderful, glorious stuff Em!

  3. February 10, 2010 at 2:41 am

    You make me smile, inside and out.

    And your artwork, btw , is incredible. How your eyes see.


Leave a Reply

