my sunshine baby

he’s got old-soul eyes this child peering up at his mama who’s sad because of grey skies. i live in a house of walls, windows few and small, so grey clouds make the air feel heavy. but there on his playmat, my rolling sunshine… squealing, lifting legs high, or sometimes just staring up at me, always seeing me… and while he’s asleep i remember his eyes, his old-man eyes, how they know when i am happy, when i’m sad, despite the smile on my skin…

and in his gaze, grace. in his his tiny hands which touch mine, soft love and then, when i try to make him laugh even when he’s tired, he giggles, light in this small house, loving me in spite of me. and sometimes, he makes funny faces waiting for me to laugh and then i do, and he does too, and we press heart-beats together and make merry this dark house, child and i, finding joy in the other.

2 Comments

  1. Teneale said,

    February 19, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Logan has been really sick for two days, so he has just wanted me to hold him and love him. Its amazing the devotion we get from a little baby hey? And our devotion back to them is amazing too.

  2. Linda said,

    February 20, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Oh Em – you mother so well. I remember such selfish feelings when I was a young mother, but you are so selfless. You make my heart sing!!


Leave a Reply

