being family

i hear him slip from the bathroom into teacher-clothes, and i rise, greet the morn with tousled hair and wrinkled pyjamas, slide his lunch into school-bag, and then he dances for me in the middle of the kitchen while he waits for his toast. dances for me as marmalade-sunshine splashes onto floor and i double over laughing as he exaggerates his moves in slow-motion then pulls me into farm-boy arms and twirls me like he did on our wedding day.

then, from the room down the hall, a small voice begging ‘getmeup so i too might join in this day, in this dance of life’ so together we visit the nursery, find our son in his wee bed big eyes staring up, small face stretching wide into smile as we gaze down. i pick him up, tuck him close and he slurps milk and we sit in kitchen-stillness eating toast and drinking coffee and being family.

9 Comments

  1. Susan Faucher said,

    February 24, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Good morming emily…reading about the start of your familys day is what it is all about.The simple things that mean the most to us.eNJOY YOUR DAY HON.XO

  2. Teneale said,

    February 24, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Sounds like a good morning. Have a great day.

  3. justinajkg said,

    February 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Lovely, girl.

  4. Keith said,

    February 25, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Wow, Aiden can say all that??? And I thought Isaiah’s words were coming along well…

    It’s fun, eh? I came home today and Darcie, Isaiah and Lucy all had their faces up against the door excited to see me. It makes me feel like a hero every time I come home!

  5. Sylvia Yoder said,

    February 25, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Gives me goosebumps as I smile and recall with much fondness, the ‘kitchen dances’ ………. love memories that continue to sustain me through life moments. You’ve captured those moments not just with words, but with your heart! Wishing you and your family many wonderful ‘dance of life’ moments!

  6. Linda said,

    February 25, 2010 at 4:05 am

    This loving word picture just warms my heart Em. All of my life it is what I’ve wanted most. It is pure joy being family!

  7. February 25, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Emily,
    I read your posts earlier, and waited until these quieter hours to come back. I spent some time looking at your older blog, poetry, and those video links from your visits on 100 Huntley Street.

    I am without words.
    I am honoured to say that I know you, just as much as I do .
    Your soft voice gives me chills. Such is the power of good. Of true. Your singing voice is incredible.

    I learn so much from Ann too, How we can be so different and yet not. How God brings beauty and abundance according to his will, with mystery and the ordinary.
    How I get to keep trying to get it right every day. I still know so little, and yet what I know keeps me on my knees.

    Sorry for the long comment. ( I might email you if that’ s okay )

  8. marge said,

    February 25, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Hi, I can just see Trent in my mind doing the dance. Good to laugh Em. Have a good day. love mom

  9. February 26, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Such a refreshing new look you have here. So gentle and soothing on the eyes. Your words/thoughts always soothe my insides =)


Leave a Reply

