legs

my mum’s carry hers on topply feet in wednesday noon light, carrying tote bag filled with bible and depend’s and her coffee mug, which she brings everywhere. she arrives, a pearl of sweat on her lip, cheeks flushed, eyes wide like the blue forget-me-knots soon to spring from my yard. she arrives triumphant, having walked from coffee-break to my house, when normally she is driven.

these are significant steps, since three years ago she lay curled on the couch days at a time unable to move or walk. the tumor is shrinking. God is moving.

staring now at my baby’s legs leaping high in jolly jumper, springing into the air like fleshy pogo-sticks, drool-goatee on his chin, mouth wide with baby delight and i see my husband in him, i see trenton’s legs and remember them running across his father’s farm, running to hop on the quad and ride far into the fields of canola, racing up and down piles of dirt and then pausing by the cows, piling off the quad and running fingers through cows’ coarse hair as they stand in moo-quiet and lick salt.

and i wonder, is it time? mum’s steps make me think it is… time to pick up from our crowded home and move to the open fields where trent can watch his son’s legs grow and chase calves and run after stray kittens and play baseball on his grandma’s lawn.

it would be an act of faith, for still, no job, no house… so, when is it faith? and when is it foolish?

and now i think of Jesus’ legs cracked and bleeding on easter-cross and i see in him, the foolishness of a weak God then, three days later, legs strong and whole, standing in the garden before Mary and Thomas and the disciples telling the world to touch and see, he is God. and he is power. he is faith. in spite of appearing foolish and weak.

begging God, then, today, to show me how to make topply steps in this walk of spirit… to know when to move. and when to stand still and wait.

for more such stories on easter, visit

6 Comments

  1. a said,

    March 24, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Love this post EM!!! Maybe it is time to move … but you don’t need houses or jobs to pick up =) Just the will and Spirit to do it =) (you know I speak from experience) love you — thanks for your comment on my blog today em — love you too!

  2. susan faucher said,

    March 24, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I feel that this move will be a happy one for you all.Things will fall into place once you get there.Both you and trent are hard workers and with your many talents ,jobs will come.Faith is very strong in your lives and with your little miricle ,i see you all soo happy.Love to you all em.xo

  3. Linda said,

    March 25, 2010 at 2:26 am

    I have taken a few moments to visit the precious ones who always pour blessing into my heart. I have been praying. It is so hard when we are a bit unsure about the steps we are taking. I have memorized a verse I lean on so often these days from Ps. 32 “The Lord says, I will guide you along the best pathway for your life; I will advise you and watch over you.” My prayer for me; for you.
    I am so glad your Mum is doing better. What a joy Em.

  4. Linda said,

    March 25, 2010 at 2:27 am

    I meant to add heartfelt thank yous for your prayers and sweet words. Thank you Em.

  5. Ann said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    This is exquisite writing, Emily — and even far more blazing Truth.

    Doesn’t He take your breath away? Faith like that.

    So you walk.

  6. Timothy said,

    March 29, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Praise God for legs that stand, that walk…that wait. Praise god for your insightful and encouraging words today. When I’ve done all I can do to stand…I’m still standing therefore. Thank you again.


Leave a Reply

